Home | All about HIOW | Members and Officers | Association meeting dates | Key documents | Links | Election Results | ResponsesBest Value Network | Other Useful Information 

Back to 1997 Meetings Index | Back to Agenda Page

Paper 4 - 28 November 1997 Meeting


28 November 1997


Paper from the Policy Officer


(1) That the partnership arrangements in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight be welcomed; and

(2) That the position be monitored and a further report prepared once the results of the recent planning work are clearer.


1. An Employment Service broadsheet on the New Deal is attached. It will be seen that the Employment Service aims to work in partnership with local authorities and others. This paper outlines the partnerships in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight as a background to the presentation by the Regional Director.

2. Five Employment Service districts cover Hampshire and the Isle of Wight:

District Office

Area Covered


Southampton New Forest Romsey area Eastleigh




South East Hampshire Isle of Wight


Rushmoor Hart

Mid Hampshire

Andover area Basingstoke and Deane
Winchester East Hampshire

3. Partnership arrangements have been established throughout Hampshire and the Isle of Wight to set up the New Deal Options for young people aged 18-24 from 1 April 1998. Contract briefings are being held in Portsmouth Guildhall on 3 December and elsewhere. Membership of the partnership steering groups is set out below. In all cases they are led by officials of the Employment Service, who are not listed.

Southampton District

Tina Broome

Hampshire Probation Service

Hilary Chadwick

Hampshire Training and Enterprise Council

Peter Cross

Dean and Dyball

Janet Crowe

Princes Trust Volunteers

Derek Fisher

Government Office (South East)

Phil Gibson

Southampton City College

Peter Grant

Eastleigh Borough Council

Michael Heath

Southampton and Fareham Chamber of Commerce

Bob Hogg

Southampton City Council

Jacquie Horne

Southampton Council of Community Services

Jill Lovelock

Hampshire County Council

Neil Miller

New Forest District Council

The Rev Robin Morrison

South Hampshire Industrial Mission

Andrea Taylor

Southampton Regeneration Partnership

Stephen Tregidgo

VT Southern Careers Ltd

Alan Whitehead

Member of Parliament


The Steering Group has similar representation to the Southampton partnership but consists of Dorset-based organisations. Close links are maintained with New Forest District Council, and Hampshire County Council. Bournemouth Employment Service has made a presentation to members of the New Forest District Council.


Richard Parker

Principal, Fareham College

Ron Wilson

Gosport Borough Council

Tony Mundy

Fareham Borough Council

Frank Campbell/Mike Bedford

Havant Borough Council

Dan Finn

University of Portsmouth

Paul Lovejoy


Martin Dennison

S E Hampshire Partnership

David Thomas

Princes Trust

Innes Richens

Drug Action Team

Eileen McDonald


Bob Chambers

Portsmouth CCS

Bob Gumbrill

Chamber of Commerce

Bernie Topham/Paul Spooner

Portsmouth City Council

Ben Stoneham

The News

Ian Bourne

VT Southern Careers

Tim Cooper

Trades Council

Tina Broom


Bill Hunsley

Business in the Community

Jill Lovelock

Hampshire County Council

Nick Edwards

PACT (Placement Assessment and Counselling Team for People with Disabilities)

Alistair Carnegie

Beneficial Foundation

Isle of Wight

The Portsmouth District Office has set up a separate "unit of delivery" for the Isle of Wight.

Stephen Tregidgo

VT Southern Careers

Bryan Marriott

Isle of Wight College

Janet Crowe

Princes Trust

Gilly Bartrip


Keith Bolton

Drug Action Team

George Weech

Youth Service

Mark Chessell

Rural Development Commission

Keith Parfitt

Rural Community Council

Bill Hunsley

Business in the Community

Ray Fleming/Peter Wright

Community Service Volunteers

David Main

Wight Training and Enterprise

Derek Osbourn

Trades Council

Kevin Smith

Chamber of Commerce

Tony Maine

Isle of Wight Council

Tina Broome


Martin Crosskey

GKN Westland

Liz Wood

Island Regeneration Partnership

Malcolm Lloyd

Isle of Wight Council

Robert Kitt

Wight Training and Enterprise

Guildford District

Rushmoor and Hart were invited to an initial consultation meeting following which a steering group was established with the involvement of Rushmoor Borough Council, Hart District Council and Hampshire County Council.

Mid Hampshire

The steering group for mid-Hampshire was set up following consultation with the local authorities:

Judith Armstrong/Peter Phillips

Basingstoke College of Technology

Peter Brook

Sparsholt College

Tina Broom


Barbara Bryant

Chamber of Commerce

Rodger Buck

Education Business Partnership

Jenny Clayton/Stephen Tregidgo

VT Southern Careers

Steve Day

Rural Development Commission

Jane Fisher

Hampshire TEC

Mike Gibbs

East Hampshire District Council

Linda Green

Peter Symonds College

Robert Jolley

Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council

Jean Robert Jones

Test Valley Community Centre

Sue Kellaway/David Mayes

Hampshire County Council

Jean Lannie

Cricklade College

Kay Longland

Estee Lauder

Jill Lovelock

Hampshire County Council

Jenny Meadows

Winchester CCS

Mik Norman

Voluntary Action East Hampshire

John Oliver

Alton College

Chris Savage

North Hampshire Industrial Mission

Marion Skidmore


Jill Spink

Basingstoke Consortium

Gordon Thompson

Wella GB

Clive Urquhart

Industrial Acoustics

Christopher Harman

Winchester City Council


4. The Employment Service will need to develop the partnership arrangements

to monitor New Deal

to establish opportunities for people aged 25 and over.

The local authorities will continue to have an important role in strategy and delivery and it is recommended that the Association reviews the position again.

Policy Officer

Last update: 05/09/2000
Author: Nick Goulder, Policy Manager

Web Space  provided by Hampshire County Council