Home | All about HIOW | Members and Staff | Meetings | Key documents | Links | Election Results and Political Control | Representations and ResponsesOfficer Networks | Other Useful Information

All about HIOW

The Association provides a structure for collaboration between local authorities in Hampshire, Portsmouth, Southampton and Isle of Wight.

We represent local authorities serving a population of over 1.8 million people from Portsmouth, the Isle of Wight and the New Forest in the south to Andover, Basingstoke and Farnborough in the north. These local authorities are Portsmouth and Southampton City Councils, the Isle of Wight Council, Hampshire County Council and 11 District Councils, the Police Authority, Hampshire Fire and Rescue Authority, and the New Forest National Park Authority and local (parish and town) councils. The Associations of  Local  Councils are full members of the Association, and representatives of the voluntary sector also attend. 

The objectives of the Association are to:

provide a means for facilitating co-operation between the constituent authorities
promote the interests of local government in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight
assist member authorities in the effective performance of their duties and functions
pursue issues of common concern to member authorities and to represent their joint interests to other bodies

Each year the Association agrees an Action Plan

Chairman and Vice Chairman

The current Chairman of the Association is Councillor Ian Carr of Test Valley Borough Council
The current Vice-Chairman of the Association is Councillor Seán Woodward of Fareham Borough Council

Association Office and Staff

The Association employs one full-time Director (Nick Goulder) and one part-time Personal Assistant (Diane Allen). These staff provide the Secretariat to the Association and to the Chief Executives' Group. The Association's Treasurer is Nick Tustian, Chief Finance Officer of Eastleigh Borough Council, and most of the work in this regard is currently provided by Sally Buckell in his department. The Auditor is Bob Jackson, Executive Director (Finance), New Forest District Council.

The Association's office is based at the Civic Offices, Leigh Road, Eastleigh SO50 9YN

Telephone no. 023 8068 8431  Fax no. 023 8068 8030   E-mail:  hiow@eastleigh.gov.uk

Staff employed by the Association

Nick Goulder, Director
Diane Allen, PA to Director


Contact Us  Sitemap

Last update:  07/04/2011
Author:          Nick Goulder, Director


Web Space  provided by Hampshire County Council